Wildfire Golf Club

5350 E Marriott Dr · Phoenix, Arizona 85054 USA

Wildfire Golf Club

Reserve a Tee Time

LPGA Founders Cup

The best of the LPGA Tour descended upon Wildfire Golf Club at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort and Spa this year for the inaugural playing of the LPGA Founders Cup a special tournament to honor the past, showcase the present and provide for the future of the LPGA and women's golf. The LPGA, its players and RR Donnelley share a collective responsibility to honor the history of the LPGA and a commitment to the future of the women's game.


The 54-hole event in 2011 marked the return of the LPGA to the Phoenix area for the first time since 2009. LPGA players forewent tournament earnings to support the LPGA Foundation and its LPGA-USGA Girls Golf program which impacted more than 6,600 young girls in 2010. Players also competed for an additional $200,000 charitable pool shared by the top-five finishers in the tournament. Prior to the start of the event, each player designated for which charity she will play.


In 2011 - 2014 fans witnessed the best of today's players, while also catching a glimpse of the past. LPGA Founders Marilynn Smith, Shirley Spork and Louise Suggs and LPGA and World Golf Hall of Fame members, Betsy King, Patty Sheehan, Nancy Lopez and Pat Bradley made special appearances at the LPGA Founders Cup. King, Sheehan, Lopez and Bradley played an 18-hole exhibition match.


The 2014 event marked the 40th year of LPGA Tour competition in the Phoenix area dating back to 1962 when 88-time LPGA Tour winner Kathy Whitworth captured the Phoenix Open.

Additional Information



Past Winners for the LPGA Founders Cup
2011 – Karrie Webb – 204 (14 under) – 54 hole event
2012 – Yani Tseng – 270 (18 under) – 72 hole event
2013 – Stacy Lewis – 265 (23 under) – 72 hole event
2014 – Karrie Webb – 269 (19 under) – 72 hole event

Wildfire Golf Club