The hotel is currently closed and will waive cancellation fees through 10-02-2022. For assistance with reservations, please contact us. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
History of The Vinoy
Pink. Proud. Perfectly preserved. Celebrating almost 100 years of sun-drenched hospitality, the resort looks back, reminisces and forges forward in its never-ending quest to deliver unique and unforgettable experiences.
Follow the original, quarry tile floor from Marchand's Bar & Grill to the opposite end of the lobby and visitors will discover The Vinoy History Gallery. Honored with an Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Preservation Education/Media by the Florida Trust for Historic Preservation in 2008, the gallery encompasses two walls and spans the period 1901-2010, linking The Vinoy with the history of St. Petersburg.
It began with a bet. The rest, as they say, is history.
From the time it opened at the dawn of 1926 to its current incarnation as one of St. Petersburg's most spectacular waterfront resorts, The Vinoy has been - and always will be - a place to relax, play, and indulge.
In 1923, it all started with a party, a bet, and a game of golf at the St. Petersburg Beach Drive home of Aymer Vinoy Laughner, a wealthy Pennsylvania businessman. Famed golfer Walter Hagen drove several golf balls off the face of his host's prized pocket watch. The wager: whether the watch's crystal would survive Hagen's powerful drive. It did, and the golf balls landed across Beach Drive on a residential waterfront property.
Laughner acquired the land for $170,000. Led by architect Henry L. Taylor and contractor George A. Miller, construction for The Vinoy Park Hotel began on February 5, 1925. The contractor set a construction record for completing the 375-room hotel in just under 10 months, in time for a grand opening on New Year's Eve 1925.
Revival of the Fittest
The Vinoy reflects the architectural influences of the Mediterranean coast, capturing its essence down to every detail. Over the years, The Vinoy's incomparable facilities have stood the test of time.
The original 1925 color named "Vinoy" was created by the Gutta Percha Paint Company exclusively for the hotel.
The Moorish-influenced decorative archways can be seen in the carved stone of the main entrance and in the great arched window in the south wall of the dining room wing.
The lobby featured a decorative quarry tile floor and pecky cypress beams. Both the original floor and ceiling grace The Vinoy's lobby today.
Barrel ceilings, archways and ornate plaster moldings highlighted The Vinoy's Grand Ballroom. During the ballroom's 2009 renovation, the resort unveiled a chandelier sculpture designed by glass master Dale Chihuly, featuring 750 pieces of individually hand-blown glass in the timeless Venetian tradition.
Red, blue, black, and yellow, plus mythological decorative motifs were lavishly applied in the Pompeian dining room. The 1990s renovation of The Vinoy included the meticulous partial restoration of the original frescos that are seen today in Marchand's.
In 1978, The Vinoy was named to the National Register of Historic Places, despite being closed and stripped bare of its furnishings and other architectural details.
More than 150 years in the making, we’ve honored William Paul's legacy by crafting a restaurant inspired by what he loved most: the bounty of St. Pete.
In 1854, U.S. Navy surveyors were tasked with finding the best site for a seaside railroad depot, accessible to sailing vessels. After searching far and wide, they selected a beautiful spot along the southeastern shore of the Pinellas Peninsula. Here, the survey expedition’s carpenter, William Paul, quickly constructed a small settlement with barracks, a short pier and a smokehouse. This small settlement eventually became known as Paul’s Landing.
After being discharged from the Navy, Paul returned with his family. Here they enjoyed the beauty of the waterfront for fishing, planted an orchard to grow fragrant Florida oranges, and continued smoking and curing meats. These three things, Citrus – Seafood – Smoke, are the essence of our restaurant.
Paul’s Landing holds true to the flavors of old Florida with a fresh, modern twist. Staying true to our historic roots, we even feature our own chef-crafted beer in collaboration with 3 Daughters Brewing called “Paul’s Landing Orange Wheat."